Awards, Scholarships & Grants

2019 CLA Awards

Nominations for awards are accepted by the granting body (CLA or one of the sections, or co-sponsors) according to rules set by that body. Deadline for submissions is January 31st, 2019.  Nominations should be accompanied by supporting materials. The awards will be announced at the Association's annual conference in April. Click here for Nomination Form

Awards are given for Outstanding Librarian, Special Achievement, Edith B. Nettleton Award, Excellence in Public Library Services, News Media Award, Adeline Mix Award, Intellectual Freedom, Support Staff of the Year, and Supporter of Support Staff of the Year.

The Outstanding Librarian Award honors the career accomplishments of a librarian who has demonstrated an outstanding record of service to his or her library and to the library profession. The following categories suggest areas in which the nominee may have rendered significant service: outstanding service in his/her field of expertise, e.g. reference, children’s services, administrative, or technical services; involvement in statewide leadership; encouragement of community/institutional support for the library. Preference will be given to nominees who have achieved in more than one area. The nominee must be a member of CLA.

The Special Achievement Award honors an individual who has implemented a significant project or initiated an innovative program during the past year. The achievement being honored should have had significant impact on the library, the community, or the library profession. This award may be given to the same individual more than once. The Awards Committee reserves the right to present more than one Special Achievement Award.

The Edith B. Nettleton Award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated an outstanding record of volunteer service to his or her library.  This award is presented in the name of Edith B. Nettleton who served as Guilford Town Librarian from 1933-1978.  After retiring, she returned to the Library as a volunteer, organizing the historical collection and serving for 35 years.

The Excellence in Public Library Service Awards honor public libraries that have provided an outstanding program or service to their communities.  They are given in 2 population categories (15,000 and under or over 15,000).  Nominations are judged on creativity and innovation, service to the community, leadership in creating model programs and programs which will affect the future of the library and its community.

The News Media Award honors an individual journalist or news organization for coverage of libraries and/or the principles of librarianship in an exemplary way during the past year. Exemplary media coverage can be evidenced through editorials, features, news reporting and/or special event reporting. Coverage may focus on library issues such as services to special populations and other appropriate topics. Copies of articles and other relevant material should be submitted with this nomination.

The Adeline Mix Award honors a full or part-time student enrolled in an approved graduate or undergraduate library education program, and enables the student to attend this year’s CLA Annual Conference. A grant of $250 will be awarded to cover conference registration, meals, and accommodations. Applicants must be a member of CLA, and the winner must agree to attend the Awards Ceremony and to write a brief article on his or her impressions of the conference for CLA Today. Applications may be no longer than two typed pages and must include the following information: status of current library school studies, education, degrees and honors, statement of need, and completion of a narrative describing how attendance at the conference will assist the candidate’s professional development.

The Intellectual Freedom Award recognizes an individual for the demonstration of extraordinary personal courage in the defense of intellectual freedom, or for the implementation of a successful and creative project developed to raise awareness of intellectual freedom issues, or for a published work on intellectual freedom.

The Support Staff Award honors an outstanding library assistant or support staff member.

The Supporter of Support Staff Award honors a library administrator or manager who promotes the role of library assistants and support staff.

Faith Hektoen Award

The CLA Children's Section awards the Faith Hektoen Award, recognizing: 1) Career achievement in the field of children's services, or 2) An outstanding program or project that has made a significant impact on library service for children in Connecticut. Nominations may be made by anyone in the library community, excepting current selection committee members. 

2019 Publicity Awards Contest 

THE CLA PUBLICITY AWARDS, sponsored by the Publicity & Communications Committee, recognize accomplishments in design, marketing, and publicity by Connecticut libraries. Materials designed to promote a library concept or event are accepted. A panel of professional designers/artists and a representative from the library field will choose the winning entries. Winning entries will be displayed at the CLA Conference and winners will be honored at a special awards ceremony at the Conference.  Deadline for submissions is to be announced.

Awards CLA co-sponsors/supports with other organizations:

The Nutmeg Children's Book Award